DIY Easy Clay Detox Face Mask

ClayMask

Have you ever heard of bentonite clay?  I recently picked up a jar after walking by it at my local supermarket.  I had listened to an interview about it earlier that day and thought it was too big of a coincidence not to buy it.  Boy am I glad I did!  I’ve used it for a few things already and I consider it a great buy.

Previously, I bought skin care products from a company that appears to have natural products, but they aren’t really.  The products work really well, but they are expensive and have some chemicals which I would rather not be putting on my skin.  With one of my purchases, this company sent me a sample of a clay mask which was called “Out of Trouble.”  IT WAS AWESOME.  I used this little sample five times over the course of a year – usually before a wedding or some event where I wanted to try to look put together – and every time my skin was left silky smooth and the next day it was clear and even complected.  I really, really wanted to buy more of this stuff.  But having no income makes you think a little more frugal and creatively.  I ended up making my own clay mask!

That’s giving myself a little too much credit.  I actually just followed the instructions on the side of the jar of clay.

Mix equal parts raw apple cider vinegar and bentonite clay.  Put on your skin, avoiding sensitive around the eye areas.  Feel it pulsate.  (They say pulsate, I say tighten on your face like a boa constrictor.)  Wash it off.  Feel a little like Joan Rivers for the next few hours.  (My skin felt tight, in a good way.)  I don’t know what it is, but something in this mask tightens my face long after I washed it off.  It also left my skin clearer and softer.  I think my pores were even a little smaller.

Bentonite clay is full of trace minerals, and also contains negatively charged particles which bind to toxins and pathogens such as heavy metals, bacteria, pesticides, etc.  (Source)  When applied topically, it can pull toxins out of your skin.  The raw apple cider vinegar alkalizes the skin and because it contains natural alpha-hydroxy acids, dead skin cells are removed and skin is rejuvenated.

I should mention that this mask will make your skin red for an hour or two after you use it, so don’t do it right before you have somewhere important to be.  Also make sure you moisturize right after.  Clay can be a little drying.

The amount of clay I use for one mask is so insanely small that the cost must be just pennies.  This jar will last me a very long time and it was only $6… and you can find it even cheaper online here.

Moral of the story – DIY beauty is a lot more easy, cheap and awesome than I expected.  Get the stuff and try it for yourself!

This clay is recommended for external use only and therefore I will have a lot more clay based DIY ideas coming.  A few of them are sure to be awesome, so pick up a jar of clay and try them out with me!

Easy bentonite clay DIY face mask for detoxification and beauty!

Do you have any experience using bentonite clay?  Please share in the comments below!

Linking up with Natural Family Friday!

5 thoughts on “DIY Easy Clay Detox Face Mask

  1. Hello!

    We’re Zion Health a vegan body care company based in San Francisco. Since 2007, we’ve offered a line of all natural skin and hair products that feature a unique detoxifying clay.

    We’d love for you to try out our Ancient Clay Repair, a natural remedy for irritated skin, and write us a review on your blog or our website, AdamaMinerals.com

    If you’re interested, contact me at cheyenne@zionhealth.com with your mailing address, and I can ship out a sample ASAP.

    Thanks, and hope to hear back from you!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Homemade Toothpaste Powder | Mommy Lives Clean

Leave a Reply

