Banana Oatmeal Cookies for Baby

babycookies

Another cookie recipe??  I promise this is the last one for a while.  I’m going baking crazy!

It’s been a short while since I stopped making baby food.  My youngest is almost two and eats pretty much everything now, with the exception for egg whites.  And poison.  I’m a good mom like that.

My nephew/god-son is almost a year old and my sister was looking for a recipe she could make for him, so I whipped up this modification of my Banana Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Breakfast Cookies, making it baby friendly.  The cookies are light and fluffy, just a touch sweet and absent of the top common allergens.

Parents have long been advised to avoid feeding egg whites to babies under one year old, as the proteins are large and difficult to digest.  Egg whites are one of the top 8 most allergenic foods.  Sometime last year, my pediatrician shared with me that due to this 2010 study conducted by the American Academy of Allergy, Asthma & Immunology, parents are now being advised that egg whites are okay as early four months old.  It kind of made me never want to return to her office.

My toddler has had eczema since he was born, and one of the triggers is undoubtedly eating egg whites.  Whether or not he has an allergy I do not know, we have not gone through the painful skin testing procedure for him.  But I definitely would not feel comfortable feeding any baby egg white, regardless of what one study concludes.

Long story short – this recipe uses egg yolk only.

I have also omitted the chocolate chips and coconut palm sugar.  The bananas provide just enough sweetness for a baby to enjoy.  Please note that this recipe is not recommended for babies until they are one year old.  I wrote a little about how babies are not able to digest grains in my post Why We Skipped Baby Cereals.  The necessary enzyme, amylase, is not present in the pancreas until the molars come in which is typically around 13 – 16 months.  I realize it is impossible to be perfect and often times baby gets a taste or two of treats which are less than ideal for a new tummy to handle.  These cookies are a much healthier option for a special treat so keep them on hand at your next get-together or party!

Allergy-free recipe for homemade healthy Banana Oatmeal baby food cookies.  Gluten free, soy free, dairy free, egg white free

Let me know how you liked them in the comments below!


Banana Oatmeal Cookies for Baby

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup oatmeal – ground in food processor or coffee grinder.  (You can sub 1/2 cup coconut flour to make this grain-free/ Paleo.)
  • 2 ripe bananas, mashed
  • 4 egg yolks
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 tablespoons coconut oil, melted
 Directions:
  1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Mix everything together really well.
  3. Spoon onto a parchment lined cookie sheet.  The batter was a bit runny, but it didn’t spread and they will fluff up nice when baking.
  4. Bake for 11-12 minutes.
  5. Allow to cool completely and enjoy!
15 thoughts on “Banana Oatmeal Cookies for Baby

    • Hi Sara, I am not sure about an egg replacement. I know a lot of people use flax “eggs,” but I would not feel comfortable giving flax to a baby. Maybe try using a little butter? I’m just not sure how they will bind once they are in the oven. Let me know if you try it, please! 🙂

      Like

  1. Using coconut flour changed the texture completely. After cooking, they were very grainy & crumbly. This was my first time using coconut flour, so maybe this is normal? But I’m not sure if the texture is ideal for many blw beginners.

    Like

  2. Pancreatic amylase in babies develops at 6 months of age, which is why it is recommended that babies be exclusively breast fed and not be given foods till 6 months.

    Like

Leave a Reply

