Banana Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Breakfast Cookies

breakfast cookies

Remember when I told you here that I get on a baking kick in the fall?  Well I wasn’t lying!  Maybe it’s the cool fall air, maybe it’s the notion of the holidays approaching, or maybe its the fact my 1st grader is away at school all day and I have a lot more time on my hands.  Seriously, how many times do I need want to mop the floor each week?  (In a house full of boys, I could be mopping endlessly.  Truth.)

My toddler was raised on meat, fruits and veggies until he was passed his 1st birthday.  Somewhere along the way, he started eating grains and of course, he loves them.  I think it was when he discovered these.  And now he loves his coocoos.  What’s a coocoo?  Well it’s a cookie, of course.

I am the evil mother that doesn’t like giving her kids processed sugar.  I am the even more evil mother that doesn’t buy store-bought sweets.  Every kid needs cookies though, and so I am always looking for creative and healthy cookie recipes which are low in processed sugar and free from gluten, soy and other ingredients we are allergic to.  When the little man was asking for coocoos yesterday, I had no choice but to whip up a healthy batch for him.  That’s because when I say asking I mean crying and whining.  ‘Terrible twos’ have come a little early.  I’ll do almost anything to make incessant whining stop.

I call these “Breakfast Cookies” because they aren’t that sweet.  Most of the sweetness comes from the bananas.   It’s kind of fun to break all the rules and have a cookie for breakfast, and it’s even better that these cookies won’t give you a sugar crash after eating a few of them.

I am minimizing how often I bake with this All-Purpose Gluten-free mix because it is made with garbanzo beans and is not so easy to digest.  TMI?  This time, therefore, I opted for a gluten-free oatmeal plus this coconut flour.  My six-year-old has some texture issues so I ground the oatmeal into a rough powder using my food processor before adding in the other ingredients.  A quick note on these soy-free chocolate chips I used – my son is allergic to soy and almost every brand of chocolate chips has soy lecithin.  If your kiddo has food allergies, always make sure you are checking the label on everything.  Recently he was looking a little sickly and I went through all of our labels, it turns out I was giving him frozen buckwheat waffles with soy oil in them.  So frustrating.  But since I have been more careful, he looks and feels a lot better!

Back to the cookies.  As an experimental recipe, it went really well.  The coocoos (cookies) are not too sweet and are an excellent option for a breakfast treat, if you like that kind of thing.  I recommend re-heating them before eating, they are much better warm than cold!

Banana Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Breakfast Cookies - Gluten Free, Dairy Free, Soy Free


 

Banana Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Breakfast Cookies

Ingredients:

1 cup gluten-free oats

1/2 cup coconut flour

3 eggs

2 ripe bananas

2 tablespoons coconut palm sugar (It’s low glycemic, yay for no sugar rushes!)

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1 teaspoon vanilla

1/2 cup Enjoy Life Vegan chocolate chips

Directions:

1.)  Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.  Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

2.)  Grind the oats in a food processor as fine as you prefer.

3.)  Add all other ingredients except for chocolate chips and pulse to combine.

4.)  Remove blade and stir in chocolate chips.

5.)  Spoon cookies onto parchment paper and flatten slightly.  They will not spread at all when baking so make sure they look pretty as is.  🙂

breakfastcookie2

6.)  Bake for 12 minutes.  Enjoy!

 

One thought on “Banana Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Breakfast Cookies

  1. Pingback: Banana Oatmeal Cookies for Baby | Mommy Lives Clean

Leave a Reply

