Detoxing after a vacation

Add these daily habits to detox after your vacation!

We are back after a nine-day road trip!  It was so neat to see our Nation’s Capital and random bits of beauty that the east coast has to offer.  We did amazing things like drive on the beach with wild horses in Corolla, North Carolina.  We also toured Washington D.C. on foot, went hiking, biking and swimming in Virginia Beach and drove through Shenandoah State Park in Virginia.  And then there were the restaurants.  And beer.  So many restaurants and so many beers.  I feel a little… heavy.  I definitely need a reset after all that eating out and drinking.  As soon as we rolled into the Midwest my allergies started up, which is a great indicator that my liver is congested and I am in need of some detoxing.

Thank goodness I have a great and easy detox protocol… one that doesn’t involve starving myself!  I find I do much better focusing on adding things into my day rather than taking things away, which leaves me feeling deprived.

  • Dandelion Tea – This is great for detoxifying the liver.  It helps reduce bloating and inflammation, as well as fighting free radicals by supplying antioxidants.  I’ve been using this brand and I love it!  It’s minty and so refreshing!  Aim for two cups a day.  I drink one in the morning and one at night.
  • Raw Apple Cider Vinegar – Perfect for breaking up mucus and moving lymph to detoxify the body and improve immune response.  Raw apple cider vinegar is full of vitamins and minerals which will refresh the body, including the skin.  It contains acids which bind to toxins and remove them from the body.  Add two tablespoons to an 8 ounce glass of water and drink at least twice a day, preferably before meals.
  • Eat more raw vegetables – Early on in our trip I could tell I was not getting enough greens and began eating mostly salads.  Eating raw vegetables is vital to my energy levels and feeling of well-being.  Despite my efforts, a salad at the restaurant is not the same as the nutrient dense salads we make at home!  Kale vs. iceberg lettuce… they don’t even compare on the nutrient scale.  The vitamins, minerals and fiber in raw veggies are the best and easiest way to detoxify quickly.  Aim for two salads a day and load up on greens and other good seasonal veggies.

Too many beers on vacation.  Detoxify using these easy techniques!

  • No alcohol – We seriously drank craft beer every day, until we were on our way back home.  I am so beer’d out.  The party is definitely over!  I have vowed to not sip alcohol for at least 5 days and give my liver a break.
  • Exercise – I always pack before vacation with good intentions of working out on the trip.  I actually attempted it on our last vacation in the Smoky Mountains, until a swarm of gnats found me and it was either quit or inhale them.  This trip, I didn’t even have time; we were constantly on the go.  We did a lot of walking, swimming and biking so I don’t feel miserable, but my body is craving a good sweat.  Exercising is great for moving stagnant lymph, which is necessary for proper detoxification.
  • Eat at home – I think we ate out 18 times.  Seriously.  It’s kind of gross!  Traveling with kids, though, its important to keep them fed or else… crabby kids are not fun trapped in a car.  Eating at home is the best way to avoid too much salt, GMO ingredients and unhealthy cooking oils.  I am SO happy to be back home in my kitchen.  The cost of eating out alone has led me to vow to not eat out for one month, starting yesterday.  I should have some great recipes coming in the near future! 🙂
  • Thieves Oil – Who knows what kind of bacteria or other unknown critters I picked up while eating out, swimming in the ocean and just traveling in general.  It is comforting to know I can use my Thieves Oil on my feet twice a day.  Make sure to dilute properly and do not use for an extended amount of time.

See, nothing too difficult!  This is a great detox protocol to try to follow everyday.  In a week or two, I should be back to feeling energized, healthy and clean inside.  I can’t WAIT.

What do you do to detox after a vacation?  Let me know in the comments below!

This post appeared on Our Three Peas’ “Wine’d Down Wednesday #49

11 thoughts on “Detoxing after a vacation

    • I have done this for years and only recently told by my Dentist that this is NOT a good thing first thing in the monirng due to the Acid in the lemon and the effect it has on our teeth. Warm water on it’s own is fine!!

      Like

  1. Hello mommylivesclean!! Overall it sounds like you guys had a great time on vacation. So happy for you. Been thinking about you. Miss all of you so much!! Ive been so busy, working alot and looking for a new place to live. However Im still interested in your oils so when I get a chance I’ll give you a call. Looking forward to chatting real soon. Love all of you!!♡♡

    Like

  2. Pingback: Seedless Elderberry Apple Jam Recipe {Simply Natural Saturday Link-up} - Crunchy Livin Mama Style

  3. Pingback: Simply Natural Saturdays Link-Up 8/30 - Brittleby's Corner

  4. I drink dirt. No, but really! Whenever I want to detox or just give my body a little boost, I drink bentonite clay water. It draws out toxins and impurities as it flows through the body. By day 3, I’m always amazed at how much energy I have! It’s like all the gunk is gone and I can start fresh. If anyone’s looking for where to get drinking clay, I have a wonderful referral for you!

    Like

  5. Howdy! I’m at work surfing aronud your blog from my new iphone 4! Just wanted to say I love reading through your blog and look forward to all your posts! Carry on the fantastic work!

    Like

Leave a Reply

