Remove Stickers from Furniture Naturally

REmove stickers from faux wood quickly without chemicals

This past week was very exciting for me.  My husband and I finally moved our toddler’s crib out of our room and into his brother’s.  FREEDOM!

In order to make this move work, we had to switch the crib with a dresser which was in my son’s room.  The dresser came decorated with Spiderman stickers which were stuck to its faux wood surface.  After much deliberation, I decided that Spiderman just doesn’t go with the theme of my bedroom and they must be removed.  The problem was I had no idea how to efficiently remove these stickers which seemed to be cemented on.  With some trial and error, I figured it out!

Learn from my mistakes, please.

First, I peeled up a little of the stickers, got impatient, doused it in coconut oil and scrubbed with a sponge.  Nothing. happened.

Then I tried baking soda in the mix.  Nothing still?  What gives!?

It turns out the glossy face of the sticker prevented my natural “goo-gone” from working properly.  Once I scraped the top off with a metal spatula, the coconut oil and baking soda mixture worked perfectly at removing the sticky-goo.  This whole escapade took me way too long!  The next time I have to do this, I will follow a different protocol.

Here’s what I should have done.

  • First, blow a hair dryer on the top of the stickers to soften the glue and peel up as much of the top glossy layer as possible.
  • Next, use a small amount of coconut oil mixed with baking soda and scrub with a rag or sponge.  Allow to soak for a minute or so.
  • Finally, use a scraper to remove any sticker goo left behind.

Viola, you are sticker free!

Quick and easy method to remove stickers naturally!

 

5 thoughts on “Remove Stickers from Furniture Naturally

Leave a Reply

