Workout Wednesday – Outdoors HIIT Routine – No Excuses!

Try this fat MELTING HIIT Routine next nap time.  Take it outdoors and get a tan at the same time!Let me just preface this post with saying that I am not a personal trainer, nor am I certified in any kind of fitness related fields.  I have, however, been working out almost daily for the last six years, and some of that time was spent under the guidance of different personal trainers.  I love working out, have tried many different methods of staying fit, and what I share here is simply my personal opinion on what is effective, fun and amazing!

For me, a steady workout routine is necessary to live a clean and healthy life.  It keeps my appetite healthy, my mind and body feeling great, and most importantly helps me be patient with those around me.  Anything that helps me be a better mom is a staple in my daily life.

Having kids makes it tough to get a workout in.  Previously, I belonged to a gym and would take over two hours everyday to drive to the gym, get a good workout in (which usually took over an hour), drive home and shower.  Honestly, what mom has that much time to dedicate to fitness every day?  I think a lot of moms feel guilty and give up with their fitness routines even though it is something they enjoy.

Well guess what.  I found a solution!

QUIT THE GYM.  You don’t need it!  In the summer months, I absolutely love working out in the sunshine.  I can go in my backyard, spend twenty or thirty minutes jumping around while getting a great dose of Vitamin D, burning off a ton of calories, melting away stress and getting a pretty good tan!  Working out in my backyard cuts out driving to and from the gym and also increases the intensity of my workout without the downtime of waiting for machines or free weights to become available.  Work hard, finish up and get on with your day!  The best part is you don’t need a babysitter.  I go outside with a baby monitor and get my workout in during my toddler’s nap-time.  I also manage to workout with my older son outside, as long as I set him up with enough to keep himself busy.  Give him some toy tractors and dirt and he will be busy all day.  🙂

I know it can be hard to get started in a new routine, but how amazing you will feel afterwards is entirely worth it.  This workout uses a jump rope and an interval timer.  If you don’t have a jump rope, substitute with high knees.  If you don’t have an interval timer, download the app here for iPhone and here for Android.

On to the workout!

This is a twenty-minute high-intensity interval workout.  Set your interval timer for two intervals, the first ten seconds rest (0:10) and the second fifty seconds work (0:50) for twenty repetitions.

Perform one workout in each fifty-second work interval.

  • Jump rope or high knees.  (See how to do high knees here.)
  • Mountain climbers.  (See how to do mountain climbers here.)
  • Jump rope or high knees.
  • Competition Burpees.  (See how to do competition burpees here.)

Repeat this set five times to complete your twenty-minute HIIT.  Push as hard as you can during the work intervals.  Also, make sure you do a light five-minute warm up consisting of jumping jacks and other light cardio.  Cool-down is also important, so stretch out after your workout is complete!  Check out FitnessBlender on YouTube for warm-up and cool-down ideas.

Looking for more HIIT workout ideas?  Check out my favorite YouTube trainers, FitnessBlender or Melissa Bender.  They have hundreds of free workouts you can do from home.  Many days I stream the workout real-time and do it with them.  It makes it easier to keep myself motivated that way.  Try it out and let me know what you think in the comments below!

*If you like what you have read, please sign up for email updates in the side bar!

Want to see more from MommyLivesClean?  Check me out on Pinterest and subscribe!

 

Leave a Reply

