Polish Cucumber Salad with a Probiotic Twist

Try this delicious and refreshing salad and feel as cool as a cucumber!Cucumbers are an awesome summer food.  I say that not because my refrigerator is filling up with cucumbers from our backyard garden and therefore I need to love them, but because they are hydrating and especially beneficial during the long, hot days of summer.

Benefits of cucumbers include:

  • Great source of B Vitamins – provides a boost in energy. Also a great source of Vitamin C.
  • 95% water – great for staying hydrated.
  • Anti-inflammatory!  This means cucumbers are anti-aging, anti-disease, etc.
  • HANGOVER CURE. Now that I don’t really drink, once I have a beer or three I will be feeling it the next morning. Cucumbers contain electrolytes, which in addition to the B Vitamins mentioned above, will keep hangovers at bay.
  • High fiber content assists in feeling full and also in removing toxins from the digestive tract.

There are many good things about spending your life with a guy from Poland.    I’ll just stick to the relevant ones for now.  FOOD!  Oh my goodness, is his mother the best cook ever.  Polish food is goooood.  Soups, cabbage, beets, delicious and filling meat dishes – it was like a whole new culinary world was introduced to me when we started spending time together.  I mean, my family is of Polish ancestry but we never really went beyond kielbasa, potatoes and sauerkraut from a can.  (Canned food = Bleh.)  If you ever get a chance to try authentic Polish food and you are not a vegetarian, DO IT!

Back to cucumbers – let’s tie this story together already.  I never really know what to do with cucumbers, other than throw them in a smoothie.  (Which is really good, by the way.)  They don’t really work for me as part of a salad because they are a fruit – see the laws of food combining.  When we started growing cucumbers in our garden a few years ago my husband suggested I mix them with sour cream to make a cold cucumber salad, which unbeknownst to me is a traditional Polish dish.  IT’S FREAKIN’ DELICIOUS.

Do you ever crave dairy?  Sometimes when I am really tired I want to eat a brick of cheese.  Thank god we don’t have much cheese in the house ever. #getsomewillpower

When I made this salad the other day, I included some fresh tomatoes from our garden as well as some pickled radishes I made.  If you ever decide to pickle a whole bag of radishes, you better hope that you love them because it makes a lot of super strong probiotic radishes.  You have to get creative to get rid of those things!

Fermented Radishes

Since most of you reading probably don’t have a mega jar of radishes fermenting in your kitchen, I would like to think a finely chopped pickle would go well in the salad, or skip that ingredient all together.  The best part is the cucumber meets sour cream; the other ingredients are merely accessories.

Start by chopping up once cucumber, and throw it in a bowl.

Chopped Cucumbers for a Refreshing Cucumber Salad

Next, chop up the pickled radishes and toss them in.  I only used 4 or 5 slices because mine turned out very probiotic.  Too much of a good thing isn’t always a good thing!

IMG_1591

After that, chop up some tomatoes and throw them in.

IMG_1592

Then add 2 heaping spoonfuls of sour cream as well as some Celtic Sea Salt, Pepper and Garlic Powder.

IMG_1596

Once you mix these ingredients up, the result is a tangy, creamy, crunchy and refreshing salad perfect for a hot summer day.  I hope you enjoy!

Cucumber Recipe

 

Sources:

http://www.whfoods.com/genpage.php?tname=foodspice&dbid=42

Leave a Reply

