How to pick a watermelon + Watermelon Slushy Recipe

Learn the tricks to always get a good watermelon!

I almost called this post “How to pick a g$% d#&% watermelon.”  We bought our first watermelon of the season and it was a great one – juicy, sweet and flavorful.  The last two watermelons I bought from the local grocery store tasted like nothing!  I realized I can only blame myself because I have no idea how to select a good watermelon.  I look them over, pick one up that “looks good” without any criteria on what that actually means, give a good slap like I’m a doctor delivering a baby, and put it in my cart regardless of what sound it makes.  I have no idea what the heck I’m doing, but I’m sure I look cool doing it…

When you buy a watermelon that tastes like nothing, no one eats it.  Then you are left with two pounds of watermelon taking up your fridge and if you’re anything like me, it will sit there until its gross and slimy because wasting food feels so wrong.  Sounds like it’s time to find out the expert tricks on how to select the perfect watermelon!

According to the The Old Farmer’s Almanac, there are several things which indicate a watermelon is ripe for the picking.

  1. Look at the colors on the top of the watermelon.  There should be little contrast between stripes once the watermelon is ready to eat.
  2. Look at the color on the bottom of the watermelon, where is was sitting on the ground while growing.  It should be a cream or yellow color to it once it is ready.  A white or greenish bottom indicates the watermelon is not ready.
  3. Give the watermelon a firm thump.  If it makes a hollow sound, it is ready.  (Hey, I guess I was on to something there!)

Other things to look for:

  • Weight – a watermelon which is juicy will be heavy for it’s size.
  • Uniform in shape, without any odd bumps or curves.  An oddly shaped watermelon can indicate poor growing conditions which won’t be a superior quality watermelon.

Put me in Coach, I think I’m ready to pick some quality watermelon!

In the event you still get a sucker, this slushy recipe will put the watermelon to good use and mask the fact your watermelon slapping skills are not where they should be.


 

WATERMELON SLUSHY

Ingredients:

  • 4 cups refrigerated watermelon
  • 1 cup ice
  • 2 tablespoons coconut palm sugar (can sub regular sugar)
  • juice of half a lime

Directions:

  1. Dump everything in a blender and blend until smooth.  Serve immediately!

This post has been featured on Natural Family Friday!

2 thoughts on “How to pick a watermelon + Watermelon Slushy Recipe

Leave a Reply

