Jicama ‘Potato’ Salad – Paleo!

jicama potato salad

It’s Memorial Day and summer is finally right around the corner!  Time for barbecues, fun in the sun and late nights filled with lightning bug catching, bonfires and a beer or two.  Around here, no barbecue is complete without a tasty potato salad!  Usually potato salad is a dish I pass on due to all of the preservatives and less than ideal ingredients.  Not anymore, I say!

I loooove me some jicama.  Sprinkled with lime juice and chili powder, dipped in spicy hummus and now as the star of this imitation potato salad.  Do not be afraid of this little crunchy yam, you will thank me later!  Unfortunately there are some things that I just cannot substitute, and mayonnaise in a potato salad is one of them.  My solution was to use a homemade paleo mayonnaise recipe, found on this Pinterest link.  If you do not have access to high quality eggs to make the mayonnaise, you can always try whisking greek yogurt, lemon and a little olive oil along with your spices and dijon mustard listed in the recipe.  Just please avoid the store bought mayonnaise, which is full of unhealthy fats, genetically modified soy and corn starch and preservatives.

jicama recipe

In honor of memorial day, I will leave you with a cute baby swinging the flag in a hardware store.  Now what’s more American than that!?

http---makeagif.com--media-5-26-2014-FbNLAw

Thank you to all who serve our country, past present and future.  It is because of our service people that we live the quality of life that we do.  God bless you all on this holiday!

This post is featured on Natural Family Friday and Mostly Homemade Mommy’s Show and Share!

6 thoughts on “Jicama ‘Potato’ Salad – Paleo!

  1. This looks like a great alternative for my family! …minus the egg. I will have to try a modification. With multiple food allergies, my body is also sensitive to simple carbs (like potatoes) and sugar.

    What is the flavor like compared to the traditional potato salad?

    Like

    • Hi Jessica! I think that I like this recipe better than traditional potato salad because the jicama is slightly sweet, so you get a little sweet along with the savory. Jicama is also a little crunchy which I like better than mushy potatoes. You might have to play with the mayo modification because it is made with egg, but I definitely think it it do-able! Stick with the dijon, olive oil, garlic, salt and pepper and you can’t go wrong. Good luck!

      Like

    • Hi Jessica! I was thinking about you yesterday. I re-made this recipe, but instead of using eggs or mayo, I used an avocado. It was fantastic! I simply cut up my jicama, squirted about half a lemon on it, a little olive oil, added half an avocado (mashed), added about 2 tablespoons dijon mustard, some fresh parsley, salt, pepper and garlic powder to taste. Everyone at the cook out we went to loved it, so I think it’s safe to say it was great! I hope this is in line with your family’s diet so you can try it. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

